Happy 140th

July 1st is Canada Day, and 2007 marks the 140th anniversary of Confederation in 1867. In many ways, I’ve grown up and aged with Canada’s second century … I was born in Canada’s 99th year, 1966, and every year on Canada Day I know the age of Canada instantly by simply adding 100 to my own age. That will change in September when I turn 41 of course, but on July 1st, every year, Canada is always a century older than I am.

I’ll be heading out later to enjoy an outdoor concert and fireworks. With any luck, I’ll get some pictures of the fireworks that I can post tomorrow … we’ll see how the weather and my location works out. The picture on the left is an old one, from my flickr account. Its from the rest stop just west of Brooks on Highway #1 on a recent day with a stiff breeze. The second, lower flag, of course, is the Alberta flag, and I figured it was a very appropriate image for today. Happy Canada Day to everyone!

Leave a Reply

