The delicious nougat of interestingness

Quarter to TenI’ve discussed the concept of “interesting” photos in Flickr before … the main Flickr Explore page is an excellent portal into some of the most stunning photographs being taken around the world. While I have no clue what the actual formula for interesting is, it seems to be made up of a number of different factors …

There are lots of things that make a photo ‘interesting’ (or not) in the Flickr. Where the clickthroughs are coming from; who comments on it and when; who marks it as a favorite; its tags and many more things which are constantly changing. Interestingness changes over time, as more and more fantastic photos and stories are added to Flickr.
from http://www.flickr.com/explore/interesting/

The interface of the Flickr explore page has always provided a great portal into the most interesting pictures posted to Flickr overall recently, and there’s even been an individual feature where I can see how Flickr rates my own pictures in terms of “interesting.” But one of the “complaints” I’ve always had with that is that I was unable to easily share those interesting pics with others … while the link was available to me when I was logged in, it wasn’t available to others visiting my site, so visitors had no way to see which of my pictures Flickr found “interesting.”

I stumbled across a new utility that allows me to create a set where I can publicly display my interesting pics. Its automaticaly updated every 24 hours (since the order of interestingness changes whenever new pics are added, or even if new people comment or favorite a picture), and I can manually request an update at any time I want. Its a free utility that so far has worked wonderfully for me, so I wanted to send a shout-out to the designer dopiaza and direct others to the utility. It looks like they have some other flickr utilities (including apparently a browser that lets you sort any user’s photo stream by interestingness) that are very interesting, though I have to qualify that by saying the only one I have used is the Flickr Set Manager. However, given the quality of that application, I have little doubt the others will function as advertised.

You can check out my own “Interesting Set” or go ahead and download the browser to be able to look at anyone’s stream by interesting. Check it out … there are some very useful looking utilities there, and help support some of the great community programming efforts to extend Flickr.

Leave a Reply

