Quality time with my Nikon

I’ve been spending a lot of time wandering around Medicine Hat (and the prairie around Suffield, Alberta) over the past few days with my camera. On Saturday, a good friend of mine took me to the Aberdeen area to show me around, and while I am sure I would have found a lot of that stuff myself, there were a few vantage points and sections that I did require a guide for, so I am very happy she was with me. We’ll probably go out and do some more similar days .. she says there are a couple of other places in town she’d like to take me. The picture that leads this article off is actually a portrait she did of me from Saturday, and along with the one taken by the_meoldy_censor at the last flickr meet, it is one of the best portraits of me in a long time … click the picture and you’ll get to Lacy’s flickr page.

I also spent Sunday wandering around the grounds of Medicine Hat College. There are always good pictures of geese to be had there this time of year, and the trees surrounding the pond usually make for very nice reflections on wind-free days, both of which are reflected in my images from Sunday. But perhaps the most fascinating discovery a tree stump that I normally would have walked right past, but on closer inspection turned out to be a giant ant colony. It was a reminder that I most certainly need a macro lens (I’ve got macro-lens envy Susan, if you read this, lol), but I managed to get a couple of interesting perspectives using my regular lens that might even be more interesting than nice macro close-ups of ants.

There isn’t really a point to this post, except to point people towards Lacy’s Flickr page, and give myself a bit of a shout-out as well. It was a very fun weekend, and over the past week or so, I’ve added several hundred photos to my Flickr page, so if you are interested in photos feel free to go have a look around and leave comments or notes. I’ll end this post with a few of my own favorite shots from this past weekend.

One Response

  1. Cool pictures! i especially like the one with the one on the water.

Leave a Reply

