Another Show … and a shout-out for Nikki Payne

Well, as I mentioned in a previous post, last night was another show in the comedy express. It actually turned out pretty well, even considering I left out about a minute of material and was short on time a bit. Regardless, I was pretty happy with the material I did manage to do. As usual, it was a fun night. I’m embedding the video at the end of this post, or you can check it out on You-Tube.  For the record, its still my crappy webcam, so the video quality sucks sweaty sewer balls.

I did want to mention that the headliner for the show last night was a woman named Nikki Payne and if you ever get the chance to see her live, make the effort. She isn’t particularly clean, so if foul language offends you, she may not be your cup of tea, but her show had me crying with laughter a couple of times. She has the energy of 10 ‘normal’ people, and as someone who has only partially overcome a stutter, I was particularly impressed with the way she uses her speech impediment in the act (in fact, one of her funniest bits talks about how cruel it is send kids with lisps to something called “speech therapy”). She’s FAR more than a one trick pony though, with great material a wide variety of subjects, including growing up in a trailer park in Nova Scotia. I couldn’t find a link to any direct page of hers, but I did find a couple of you-tube videos of her that are a good representation (here and here) but I really do recommend seeing her live … if you live in Calgary, she’s at the Yuk Yuk’s in Blackfoot Inn until Saturday night (Mar 24). Its worth mentioning that while she “riffs” on the theme of her stuff not being intellectual comedy (and starts one of the clips I linked to that way actually), its some of the smartest “un-intellectual” humour I’ve heard in a long time. Check her out if you have a free evening this week in Calgary.

For now, you can check out my latest show (not even in the same ballpark as Nikki, for the record, but maybe someday) at the You-Tube address above or here below …

http://blog.globalparadigms.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/03/yukyuks-2007mar20.wmv

Leave a Reply

