New server for View from the Edge and Global Paradigm

My new server has arrived finally, so I’ll be spending the next few days migrating both my blog, and the Global Paradigm magazine, from the old hardware to the new stuff. I’ll do my best to make this as seamless as possible for you readers, but there’s no getting around a little bit of down time. I still have a fair bit of database work to do before I’m ready to go live on the new hardware, but I’m expecting it to happen within 48 hours.

In the meantime, this blog is always mirrored at WordPress.com, so if you have errors with the http://blog.globalparadigm.info/ address, try using the https://elronsviewfromtheedge.wordpress.com/blog-posts/ link instead … it will remain up regardless of what I do on my own server. Right now, Global Paradigm magazine has no mirror, so hopefully you’ll bear with me over there.

For people interested in the techie details, I’m migrating to a 64-bit HP/Compaq machine as my server. Should give me plenty of room for growth, and even though I haven’t really been taxing my old Pentium 3 server with my current traffic levels, the steady increase in traffic over the past few months has got me thinking about future capacity. Regardless, moving to a modern 64-bit machine gives me the option to do a lot of extra things with the machine if I want, without even thinking of impacting current server performance.

For folks wondering about the OS end of things, I’ve been a pretty loyal Redhat user now for well over half a decade. I think Redhat 6 was the first version I installed, and ever since I’ve been satisfied enough with the performance not to really look elsewhere. I am currently using the Fedora Core 5 (and ofc, on this install I moved from the i386 packages to x86_64 packages … and I guarantee that sometime down the road, I will waste some time trying to figure out why the i386 packages I downloaded won’t install properly, lol). I round out my fairly standard LAMP server with Apache 2.2, PHP 5.1, and Mysql 5.0.

On top of all that, I use 2 sets of software, one for my blog and one for the Global Paradigm magazine. View from the Edge is powered by WordPress software, purpose built to serve as a blogging platform. It provides a variety of easy to use templates for the look and feel of your website, and makes modification and personal tweaking of styles extremely easy. Global Paradigm uses a more general system, a content management system called Drupal. Designed for more general use, Drupal is a powerful system for organizing essentially any content for a web-based (or intranet-based) presentation. Flexible templates, with interchangeable and movable blocks, a robust and very usable taxonomy section, and plug-ins and add-ons galore, Drupal is a good choice for anyone looking to set up a basic web presence with minimal effort.

Leave a Reply

