A Repost, in honour of my 40th birthday …

Happy Birthday
by Lyle Bateman

Today is the day I shed my skin
wriggling out
to leave my dried husk behind

The new skin is same as the old
in facet and hue
but it glistens translucent under the moonlight.

Until next year.

Copyright 1998

This was originally posted Apr 12, and was originally written by me in 1998. It wasn’t written for my own birthday that year … just an idea I came up with, but I do like the sentiment, especially for my 40th …

Leave a Reply

