IITA at Ibadan …

The Lake at IITA, Ibadan, Nigeria

This was taken on my first trip outside of Lagos after arriving. I was very green, and though I’d gone out a bit in Lagos, I was chomping at the bit to get out of the city and see some of the rest of Nigeria. When the family of a business contact, the Mings, asked me to join them for a weekend, I jumped at the chance.

IITA stands for International Institute of Tropical Agriculture, and its a very well respected agricultural research centre globally, from what I gather. However, a secondary service they run, when not full of visiting scientists, was very reasonably priced and nice, modest rooms in an oasis of calm. The IITA grounds were like walking through a National Park in Canada … pristine nature, unfettered by man, or by the chaos of greater Nigeria.

I think this shot represents the placidity very well. I love the way the birds are reflected (sorry, got no idea what kind of birds they are) on the smooth surface of the water, with the forest across the lake as well. The droopy palm frond in the foreground, to me, sets the depth and frames the rest of the shot nicely. This remains one of my favorite shots of all the pictures I took while in Africa. I hope you enjoy it as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

